How to switch between game modes in Minecraft

Minecraft has come a long way since its launch in 2011. It now spans multiple game modes, each with a different end goal and with different levels of difficulty. Switching between these game modes is simple and can dramatically change your experience with the game.

The key is knowing the difference between each game mode and what it means to you. This guide will explain not only the modes but also how to switch between game modes in Minecraft easily.

What is the game mode in Minecraft?

Minecraft is made up of four different game modes: Creative, Survival, Hard and Adventure.

Creative mode is the freest form of all Minecraft game modes. In Creative Mode, the player cannot die and has access to every item in the game through the expanded inventory. It allows players to build giant structures by abandoning and exploring the world around them.

Creative Mode is essential when you want to build a starting area for your server before moving on to a different game type. This is also the best mode when you want to play a casual, low-risk game that allows you to flex your imagination and build anything you can think of.

Survival mode is the most basic Minecraft game mode. You start with no resources (or very few) and must fight your way through a world full of enemies wanting nothing more than to see you fail. Survival mode forces you to keep both your health and hunger levels up, set spawn points, and more.

There are real risks to dying in Survival Mode, including losing all your items. There are also four distinct difficulty levels to choose from: Peaceful, Easy, Normaland Hard. In Peaceful, no monsters appear and your hunger will not decrease. In addition, you regenerate health over time.

On Easy, Normal and Hard difficulties, hostile enemies will spawn and your health will not be restored unless your hunger level is full. Damage dealt by both environmental and enemy hazards increases with each difficulty level.

Hardcore mode similar to Survival, but with two main exceptions. The first is that the game difficulty is locked on Hard mode, and the second is that there is no respawn. If you are killed in Hardcore Mode, you cannot go back. The game is over for you and you have to start in a whole new world.

Hardcore mode is the hardest of all Minecraft game modes, but also one of the most fun for those who want a challenge. Higher stakes make the game much more enjoyable, both to play and to watch.

Adventure mode is a game mode dedicated to custom generated maps. While it shares some similarities with Survival in that the player has to fight the mobs and stay hungry, they cannot destroy blocks with their fists. Instead, specific tools must be used.

Adventure Mode typically contains a plot or specific map-based objectives. It’s another way of playing Minecraft that allows people to dive deeper into the Minecraft world and create their own lore and stories.

How to switch between game modes in Minecraft

You can start the game in any mode, but if you decide to switch between modes in Minecraft midway through your gameplay, you need to enter a specific command. You also need to enable cheating in your game, which means you can’t complete the achievement while this method is active.

First, tap the slash or question mark key on your keyboard. This will open the chat menu in Minecraft. Next, type /game mode. Minecraft will try to autocomplete the phrase. You can then enter any of the following:

  • adventure
  • creation
  • audience
  • Survival

Notice the “Audience” mode? It’s a specific type of game that allows you to take on monstrous forms and fly around the game world, observing other players without interfering with what they’re doing. That’s also the mode you swap to if you get killed on a hardcore server.

You may also note that hardcore is not an option. You must start the game in hardcore mode – you cannot select it later. If you start at Hardcore and move on to a different type of game, you can’t go back to Hardcore.

After you enter the command – for example: /gamemode creative–Just press Enter. This instantly switches your game type to the specific mode.

This command works for Minecraft on PC, Xbox One and Series X, PlayStation 4, and Nintendo Switch. It also works on Minecraft Pocket Edition.

Why change the game mode in Minecraft?

The ability to change game modes may not seem useful at first, especially if you’re the type of person who likes to aim for achievements. On the other hand, maybe you want to create a custom game type like Capture the Flag game.

You can use Creative Mode to build respective bases for your friends, then switch the mode to Survival so players can get in on the game. After a few playthroughs, you can switch back to Creative to modify if the game doesn’t match your vision.

Four different game modes can change your overall experience with Minecraft just as much as a modpack can. Take the time to experiment with each and find your favorite game mode, but keep in mind that hardcore is probably not the best starting point for a first-time player.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *